The European Prize in Combinatorics

The European Prize in Combinatorics is traditionally awarded biannually at the Eurocomb meeting. It is supported by DIMATIA, organizers of Eurocomb and private sponsors. The award amounts a diploma and 2500 EUR.

The prize is awarded to a European researcher not exceeding age 35 for his/her international achievements in the field of combinatorics and related fields.

This year’s international jury consisted of Professor Peter Cameron, St. Andrews and Professor Jaroslav Nešetřil, Prague.

The jury received a number of individual nominations. By a unanimous decision the jury decided to award three 2015 prizes.

Dr. Karim Alexander Adiprasito
For his wide-ranging and deep contributions to discrete geometry using analytic methods particularly for his solution of old problems of Perles and Shephard (going back to Legendre and Steinitz) on projectively unique polyhedra.
Dr. Zdeněk Dvořák
For his fundamental contributions to graph theory, in particular for his work on structural aspects of graph theory, including solutions to Havel’s 1969 problem and the Heckman-Thomas 14/15 problem on fractional colourings of cubic planar graphs.
Dr. Robert Morris
For his profound results in extremal and probabilistic combinatorics particularly for his result on independent sets in hypergraphs which found immediately several applications in additive number theory and combinatorics, such as the solution of old problem of Erdős and for establishing tight bounds for Ramsey numbers, and also on random cellular automata and bootstrap problems in percolation.
Picture of the prize winners Karim Adiprasito, Zdeněk Dvořák, and Rob Morris

Prize winners Rob Morris, Karim Adiprasito, and Zdenek Dvorak.

The prizes were given at a ceremony in Bergen, August 31, 2015.